Ivy Rugby Conference

Annual General Meeting

Minutes typed up by Milli Luciano (<u>Luciano.amelia@gmail.com</u>) and Kiran Raja (<u>kraja@sas.upenn.edu</u>), the 2017 and 2018 secretaries respectively.

The meeting began at 10:11 am with introductions from everyone in the room. Ten former directors were present – Kathy Flores, David Burke, Dan Kennedy, Chris Ryan, Andy Margolis, Jay Fluck, Craig Wilson, Milli Luciano, Katie Dowty, and Mel Denham

University	Women's	Men's
Brown	Kathy Flores	Jay Fluck
Columbia	Michelle Feely	Dan Kennedy
Cornell	Milli Luciano	Dave Burke
Dartmouth	Katie Dowty	James Willocks
Harvard	Mel Denham	Mike Diamantopoulos
UPenn	Kiran Raja	Andy Margolis
Princeton	Chris Ryan	Richard Lopacki
Yale	Craig Wilson	Greg McWilliams

The following directors were elected with no objections:

Thirteen new directors were present.

Kathy Flores mentioned that the three women's varsity teams (Brown, Dartmouth, and Harvard) are in a strange place being that they are no longer participating in the Fall conference. They might want something other than a director or to step out.

Presidential Election

Steve Siano was nominated by Chris Ryan; Dan Kennedy seconded.

Milli Luciano was nominated by David Burke; Chris Ryan seconded.

Both candidates gave short speeches about their qualifications. Kathy Flores asked what the responsibilities of the job were, and Steve described obligations like paperwork, keeping people on task, coordinating committees, working with USAR to complete requirements for the conference, and voting but not being a deciding vote.

Milli Luciano was elected President (2-7).

Executive Board

The following members were elected to executive board positions. Kiran Raja is the newly elected secretary, while Bob Far and Andy Margolis will continue with their positions from last year.

Secretary – Kiran Raja

Treasurer – Bob Far

General Counsel - Andy Margolis

Nomination and election of the 7 IRC Committees

Disciplinary Committee:

Chair - Jay Fluck

Members – JoJo Bucci, Kathy Flores, Chris Ryan, Craig Wilson

Marketing Sponsorship and Promotions Committee:

Chair – Andy Margolis

Members - Michael G. Diamantopoulos, Nic Clapinson, Scott Adams

Competitions Committees:

Decided that each competition committee can have multiple members from the same institution, but each institution has only one vote.

Men's:

Chair - Michael G. Diamantopoulos

Members – David LaFlamme, Alex Magleby, Greg McWilliams, Daniel Kennedy, David Burke, Richard Lopacki, Anthony Adams, James Willocks

Women's:

Chair - Craig Wilson

Members - Chris Ryan, Margaret Lorenc, Justina Devruzzi, Kiran Raja

<u>Select Side Committee:</u> Men's: Chair – Dave Burke Members – M.C. Laubscher, David LaFlamme Women's: Chair – Chris Ryan Members – Craig Wilson, Maitoe Marearai Finance Committee:

Chair – Bob Far

Members - Kevin Gorski

Sports Medicine Task Force:

Chair - Eric Wamsley

Members - David LaFlamme, Kelly Teixera, Ben Shuler, Nathan Xu, Regan Jones

Presentation by Duke (Yale) and Joann (Dartmouth)

The Senior Associate Director of Yale Duke Diaz spoke about how the athletic directors of institutions need to play more of a role in the Ivy Rugby Conference. Coaches aren't accountable to the conference; they answer to their athletic directors. Currently, directors don't have answers to the questions they are asked by their superiors on issues of safety, disciplinary action, and liability. For example, disciplinary action taken by the Ivy Rugby Conference can be overruled by athletic directors, but why go through this process when directors can just have more control to begin with.

Dartmouth's coach Katie Dowty commented on how she agreed to a tournament schedule that her athletic director would never have approved because it was fiscally irresponsible.

One point of contention was the fact that rugby teams from different universities span a huge spectrum. Some teams are varsity, some are club sports, some coaches are full-time employees, others are independent contractors, etc. Cornell specifically has minimal involvement between its athletic department and the conference, so what does that mean for its representation within the conference?

Other comments include that athletic directors should just communicate their needs better with the conference, that students as opposed to coaches should be representing their institutions at the conference, and that if the directors really want control over the conference, they can win the nine votes required.

It was ultimately decided that the administrators should put together three to four proposals for how they want to change the structure of the conference.

Options mentioned were making a committee of administrators or having an administrative position on the Executive Board. The proposals should also include how the administrators plan to address disparities amongst the teams. The deadline for proposals is March 15, 2018.

Competitions Committee Breakouts

Women:

The 2018 Spring Ivy 7's Championship will be held on April 14th at Princeton University and will include all teams.

Concerning the Fall 2018 season, Brown, Dartmouth, and Harvard have been given game schedules by the NCAA and will not be participating in the Ivy Club games. These three varsity teams will play amongst themselves, and the winner will be crowned Ivy Varsity Champion.

Each of the five club teams will play four games in four weeks against the other four teams, two home games and two away. On the fifth week, the fifth seed will play the fourth seed while the top three teams have a bye week. The Ivy Club Rugby Championships will take place the week after, with games being 1 vs. 2 and 3 vs. 4. Teams wishing to host should submit proposals before the committee reconvenes over phone in a month or so, at which point the championship location will be determined and the schedule finalized.

Men:

The 2018 Spring Ivy 7's Championship will be held on April 14th at either Dartmouth or Yale. Both institutions will submit proposals by next week and the committee will come to a decision.

The Fall 2018 league structure will involve two divisions with division-crossing friendly games. The goal will be to play the most games as possible, and the chair will present a more detailed structure as soon as possible.

Reports

Finance:

Finance Chair Bob Far presented the finance report for 2017 and declared that the conference is all clear on past due assessments. The conference agreed to fund trophies with a budget of \$2000; the competition committees will decide on the number and price of the trophies. Assessments of \$750 per team were approved, as well as a \$1000 insurance fee, \$1000 payment, and \$1500 for future legal fees. As the women's varsity teams from Brown, Dartmouth, and Harvard are no longer participating in the Fall conference, their assessments will be reevaluated depending on whether they will continue to participate in Spring 7's. They will likely be around \$200.

Disciplinary:

Chair Jay Fluck presented the disciplinary report. There were two red cards last year, but everything has been handled.

Select Side:

Milli volunteered to be in charge of establishing an Academic All-Ivy team.

Men's:

Chair Dave LaFlamme went over the select side report. He has a list of players (e.g. those who were nominated by coaches, scored the most points, etc.) and their positions and he'll narrow the list down. He has struggled because of a lack of response from teams, coaches, and players.

Women's:

The committee will create an All-Star team from the Spring Ivy 7's tournament.

Marketing and Sponsorship:

Chair Andy Margolis presented the marketing report; contributions include \$500 from the bank and \$500 from a sponsor. Andy will continue as chair for now, but he will try to recruit someone to take over.

<u>Next year's annual general meeting has been scheduled for January 26, 2019 at 10 AM at Yale.</u>