Three Ivies join 13 others @ 7s Colligiate Rugby Championships

Ivy Rugby has learned that NBC has agreed to broadcast the first Rugby 7s collegiate championship to be held in June 2010. The June 5-6 tournament will be, what NBC believes, the first time college rugby have appeared on broadcast TV. Three Ivy teams join the list of 16 participants.

The classic 7s style 16 team tournament will be held in Columbus, Ohio at Columbus Crew Stadium. The event will feature 16 teams, including Notre Dame, Ohio State, Florida, Cal, and three Ivy League Rugby Schools Dartmouth, Harvard and Yale. NBC will broadcast the games in the 4:30-6:00pm ET time slot on both Saturday and Sunday, while Universal Sports will air coverage from 2:00-4:30pm both days.  NBC Sports Exec VP Jon Miller said, "Rugby Sevens is an exciting, fast-paced sport that is growing in global popularity, participation and interest. USA Sevens is the ideal partner for this event, which features the best collegiate rugby teams in the country." Rugby 7s will make its Olympic debut at the ‘16 Rio de Janeiro Games. 16 Colligiate Schools Arizona State Notre Dame Army Ohio State Cal Penn State Dartmouth Stanford Florida Tennessee Harvard San Diego State Michigan Utah Navy Yale